GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF LABOUR AND EMPLOYMENT LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3511 TO BE ANSWERED ON 15TH JULY, 2019

EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY

3511. SHRI CHANDAN SINGH: SHRIMATI PRATIMA MONDAL:

Will the Minister of LABOUR AND EMPLOYMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has constituted two panels under the leadership of the Prime Minister to increase annual growth rate and the number of employment opportunities in the country;
- (b) if so, the facts in this regard;
- (c) whether the Government has fixed priority regarding the said matters;
- (d) if so, the priorities of the Government in both these areas;
- (e) the details of the targets set regarding the objectives to be met by the said panels; and
- (f) the reason leading to unaltered unemployment rate in India in the past two years?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE (IC) FOR LABOUR AND EMPLOYMENT (SHRI SANTOSH KUMAR GANGWAR)

(a) to (f): Yes, Sir. The 'Cabinet Committee on Investment and Growth' and the 'Cabinet Committee on Employment and Skill Development' have been constituted on 06.06.2019. The Standing Committees of the Cabinet, and their functions are set out in the First Schedule to the Government of India (Transaction of Business) Rules, 1961 (ToB Rules). The said Committees will address issues relating to Investment and Growth and Employment and Skill Development respectively. Extant composition of the two Committees is annexed.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY OF PART (a) to (f) OF THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3511 FOR 15.07.2019

Cabinet Committee on Investment and Growth

Composition

Prime Minister. Shri Raj Nath Singh, Minister of Defence. Shri Amit Shah, Minister of Home Affairs. Shri Nitin Jairam Gadkari, Minister of Road Transport and Highways; and Minister of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises. Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman, Minister of Finance; and Minister of Corporate Affairs. Shri Piyush Goyal, Minister of Railways; and Minister of Commerce and Industry.

Cabinet Committee on Employment and Skill Development

Composition

Prime Minister.

Shri Raj Nath Singh, Minister of Defence.

Shri Amit Shah, Minister of Home Affairs.

Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman, Minister of Finance; and Minister of Corporate Affairs.

Shri Narendra Singh Tomar, Minister of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare; Minister of Rural Development; and Minister of Panchayati Raj.

Shri Ramesh Pokhriyal 'Nishank', Minister of Human Resource Development.

Shri PiyushGoyal, Minister of Railways; and Minister of Commerce and Industry.

Shri Dharmendra Pradhan, Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas; and Minister of Steel.

Dr. MahendraNath Pandey, Minister of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship.

Shri Santosh Kumar Gangwar, Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Labour and Employment.

Shri Hardeep Singh Puri, Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs; Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Civil Aviation; and Minister of State in the Ministry of Commerce and Industry.

Special Invitees

Shri Nitin Jairam Gadkari, Minister of Road Transport and Highways; and Minister of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises.

Smt. Harsimrat Kaur Badal, Minister of Food Processing Industries.

Smt. Smriti Zubin Irani, Minister of Women and Child Development; and Minister of Textiles.

Shri Prahalad Singh Patel, Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Culture; and Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Tourism.